Using control handle to access controls...

pim slim

Hi,

AutoItX newbie here... I'm having some problems with control handles, and I was wondering if you guys could help me. I'm trying to use a control's handle in a call to ControlSetText (FYI: I'm using C#), but it doesn't seem to work. It works perfectly when I use classname or controlID, but for my application I'd like to be able to use the control handle.

I have the following code:

AutoItX3Class a = new AutoItX3Class();
a.Run(exename, dirname, 1);
a.WinWait(apptitle, "", 1000);
string hWnd = a.WinGetHandle(apptitle, "");
a.AutoItSetOption("WinTitleMatchMode", 4);

// a.ControlSetText("handle=" + hWnd, "", "Static1", "Test"); // classname works
// a.ControlSetText("handle=" + hWnd, "", "4", "Test"); // control ID works

// the following attempts using hCtl do not work :(
string hCtlHex = a.ControlGetHandle("handle=" + hWnd, "", "Static1");
string hCtlDecimal = Convert.ToInt32(hCtlHex, 16).ToString();

a.ControlSetText("handle=" + hWnd, "", hCtlHex, "Test");
a.ControlSetText("handle=" + hWnd, "", hCtlDecimal, "Test");
a.ControlSetText("handle=" + hWnd, "", "handle=" + hCtlHex, "Test");
a.ControlSetText("handle=" + hWnd, "", "handle=" + hCtlDecimal, "Test");
a.ControlSetText("handle=" + hWnd, "", "0x" + hCtlHex, "Test");

Does anyone have an idea what I'm doing wrong? The only thing I can think of is that maybe the control handle is supposed to be passed to ControlSetText as an int instead of a string, but that's impossible because ControlSetText expects a string argument.

I would be most thankful if there was anyone out there who could lead me out of the darkness.

Edited by pim slim

Using the AutoIt Window Info Tool you can move your mouse around the window you are interested in and you will be given information of the control that is currently under your mouse. Information on controls is given in a number of ways, these are:

Control ID

ClassNameNN

Text