Automated Program installation

Hello, I want to write scripts to automate installing software that we all need:

Adaware, spy/mal preventers, acrobat, quicktime, winzip and so on, using scripts. I stumbled upon autoit and am trying my first script, one to install Winzip 9.

I made some notes as I went through and came up with this script:

Run,winzip90.exe

;runs winzip exe

Send, {ENTER}

;clicks yes to setup

Send, {ENTER}

;accepts default path

Send, {ENTER}

;accepts setup

Send, {ENTER}

;accepts agreement

Send, {ENTER}

;accepts quickstart

Send, {ENTER}

;accepts classic, and does next

Send, {ENTER}

;express install

Send, {ENTER}

;associates with default archives

Send, {ENTER}

;finishes installation (in theory.~)

;program opens

;WinClose

;should close winzip window.

it flops over at the first hurdle, opening lots of winzips, so it's in some sort of loop.

please don't laugh- i know it's terrible, but I don't know why. I am not a programmer, I'm an engineer! I just want to write a script for each program, have them called by a master script and walk away, knowing in ten minutes all my apps will be installed safely!

All help most gratefully received, many thanks in advance,

Nick

If this is your first experience with AutoIt, then you may want to try version 3 :ph34r:

Actually I recommend you use the "unstable" autoit-v3.0.102.exe

You will also want to look at the WinWait function to ensure that the clicks are sent at the right time.

Here's a sample of version 3 syntax to get you started:

Run("winzip90.exe") ;run WinZip installer

$title = "WinZip® 9.0 Setup"
WinWait($title)
ControlClick($title,"", "&Setup") ;yes to setup

$title = "WinZip Setup"
WinWait($title)
ControlClick($title,"", "OK");accept default path

$title = "WinZip Setup"
WinWait($title, "Thank you for installing WinZip!")
ControlClick($title,"", "&Next >");Next

$title = "License Agreement and Warranty Disclaimer"
WinWait($title)
ControlClick($title,"", "&Yes");agree to license