Automate my script?

Xenos

Hello! Me again!

I was hoping somebody could help me automate my script?

Basically I run a Daily Status report on some servers to check and log errors. As it is; it is prompting the user to enter "How many days do you want to run your report?" Since the response usually hinges on the day of the week (ie: Monday we run for 3 days, most others just 1) I was hoping to take out the required user input, automate the script, then make it a scheduled task.

Here is the relevant sections of code. I was thinking just replace the Input with a function to get the day of the week. I see in the new datenew.au3 there are several functions that might work with this, but since I am still a raw newbie I was hoping somebody would hold my hand :)

$ANSWER = InputBox("Get Status", "How many days do you want to check?", "2", "", -1, -1)

If @error = 1 Then Exit

If $ANSWER > 5 Then

MsgBox(4096, "Number of Days to Check", "A maximum of 5 Days maybe entered")

$ANSWER = InputBox("Get Status", "How many days do you want to check?", "2", "", -1, -1)

EndIf

If $ANSWER > 5 Then Exit

$Z = $ANSWER + 1

Do

$I = $I + 1

{Processing Here}

Until $I = $ANSWER

If I could have $ANSWER be set automatically based on a GetDayofWeek function.

I really appreciate your help. You guys rule.

Newbs

You can also search the forums for the datenew.au3 include file.  It contains many good date calculation functions.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Yes thank you both very much. I did not see the WDAY macro. I do have the datenew.au3 file and have isolated the 2 functions that find the day. I am just not quite sure how to implement them. I am still quite new to this - I came from the IT admin world not a programming environment.

So, to implement the macro I would simply ditch the User Input for

If @WDAY = 1 then

$ANSWER = 3 ;Monday - run report for 3 days

else if @WDAY = 6 or 7 ;Sat or Sun do not run report

$ANSWER = 0 ;its a weekday do it for 1 day

else

$ANSWER = 1

end if

end if