Help... i need help :(

Hello, im new to this autoit thing, but want to see what i can do with it as it seems like a cool program. so i downloaded AutoIt v3 and ya... thats as far as i made it. to be honest i read most of the wiki and help section, and i still dont even know how to start the thing ( aka WTF) . when i click on the file it opens up to run script(x64) run script(x86) compile script (x64) compile script(x86), if i open compile i need a source file (where do i get one of these) if i open the other it just leads to a dead end... so confused plz someone help me, i am willing to skype so u could just talk me thro it instead of write out the steps, or any other chat program u might use... just someoe plz help grrrrrr

First, Welcome to the Autoit forums!

Just as a general rule try not to double post as well

It's not really a program per say more like a language with great support and plenty of UDF's.

To start off you might want to come up with a problem and try to solve it. Are there any tasks or things you do that you wish you could just start an app and Boom it's done?

After you get a good project idea figure out how you would code the script to make it happen. Hint start simple, HelloWorld msgbox or even open notebook and plug in some text.

Then share your work and ask for advice or better/ faster / less resource intensive ways to do the same task.

Post your idea for a script / project here and I'll help to show you a starting point. Learning means doing it yourself by the way not being given the answers okay?

Good Luck man! :bye:

A true renaissance man

msgbox(0, "", "don't touch the mouse or keyboard", 2)
$xymax= 2000;0..1999 is 2000
$xydatamax= 2;0..1 is 2
dim $xy[$xymax][$xydatamax]; this creates a 2 dimension array 0-1999 rows with 2 data members each
;loop fills the array with random values, your user could input them manualy too
for $i= 0 to $xymax-1
   $xy[$i][0]= random(200, @desktopwidth-200, 1);random x coord