source code for AutoitSC.bin?

jfrandol

Hi,

A few days ago I found that I could not Digitally Sign an AutoIt-generated .exe file and still be able to run it.

Jon wrote in response:

>>Unfortunately, the signing modifies the exe file so that when autoit tries to scan >>it and unpack the script it won't be able to find it (the long delay) and then fail.

It appears that the code that scans for and unpacks the script from the self contained .exe is not in the downloadable source ? (I couldn't find it,I guess it would be the source code for AutoitSC.bin?)

I would make a stab at 'fixing' this if I knew where to look - since I have some experience in C (a little in C++) - and I really like AutoIT's ability to make a small .EXE with no runtime dependancies - BUT in todays world, some people would really like me to sign my small .exe's (it makes them feel better...)

Does anyone know where I should look for this code ?, or have any other thoughts or comments on this topic ?

Thanks,

John F.

Some source should remain secret. Scanning and decompilation code would perhaps be the most sensitive of the source code. Signing an executable could be a bigger risk, then without it. If anyone can change the source for signing, then it would be Jon for this. Risk would need to be considered. If it is even possible?

Some archive types can be signed. This allows for safe transport of it's contents. This maybe an alternative?

thanks for your thoughts/comments.

>>If you could sign the file before compiling your script would that help?

Not really (if i understand that you are saying that I would sign the .au3 file before compiling it) , the goal is to end up with an executable that I can send out that is Signed in the normal Microsoft Code Signing way. (so when someone tries to run it from a web download link for example, they get the nice dialog that shows that it is signed and that this is the publisher and do you want to trust it, (if that publisher is not already trusted)