[semi off topic] - Your code in a corporate environment

kinch

Hi guys,

I'm a low level tech support dude in an organisation supporting approx 6000 users.  Alot of our processes are manual, slow, and use outdated tools.  While I can't do much about the tools (since most of them are used by the whole company in various forms and I can't just update it myself), I have found that I can automate and greatly speed up the manual and slow processes.  I've been working on 3 tools over the last few months.

Now I'd like to iterate that I'm low level - I have pretty limited access and realistically, this kind of thing is above my pay grade; not because I can't do it, but because we're dealing with high level managers and corporate-wide communications.  Frankly, I shouldn't be taking responsibility for doing things like this.  However, I'm the only one in my team smart enough to do it.

My managers are insisting that the code be well-documented, maintained, and easily modifiable.  They're also insisting that all my code be available for our area (and technically anyone else) to modify if need be.

I'm a little conflicted here: I literally spent months working on these, and even learning AutoIT from scratch to do so (I had previous experience with VB and HTAs, so it's not a huge transition, but I'm always learning new things).  It's my code, I worked on the vast majority of it on my own time because I was too busy doing tech support at work.  There's no one else in my team smart enough to do it.  However, in the other teams, there are people smart enough to take my code, modify it, and then claim it as their own.  We have no corporate rules about this (we're not a programming organisation and we almost always use external vendors for this.)  Even if we do have code we wrote, it's always owned by "the company".