Unable to get text or count from listbox

ravi_npatty

Hello All,

I am new to Autoit. I am using Windows 10 (64 bit). I tried tutorials and all went smooth till I started my own project. I want to capture some data from a stand alone application and store it in database.

Data which I am interested are in Static, Edit and Listbox. I have no problem in getting the data from Static or Edit controls. I am unable to get anything from listbox except its handle. I tried _GUICtrlListbox_GetCount, _GUICtrlListbox_GetText, _GUICtrlListbox_GetItemData and nothing gives any information.

I tried on Windows 7 platform (32 bit) also with same application and the results are same.

Code:

#include <MsgBoxConstants.au3>
#include <GUIConstantsEx.au3>
#include <GuiListBox.au3>
#Include <Array.au3>

dim $obwin,$ttt,$tt
$obwin=WinWait("Snap Quote of","",1)
if $obwin="" Then
   MsgBox(0,"","No snap quote window open")
Else
  $ttt=ControlGetHandle($obwin,"","[CLASS:ListBox; INSTANCE:2]")
   MsgBox(0,"",$ttt)

$tt=_GUICtrlListBox_GetCount($ttt)

MsgBox(0,"",$tt)
EndIf

Please somebody help me what I am missing.

I am able to manually click, Ctrl+C to copy the information from that listbox. But when I try to do that using mouseclick(177,445) & Send("{CTRLDOWN}c{CTRLUP}") nothing comes to clipboard. It seems mouseclick itself not really working since that control focus is not set.

I successful in using mouseclick Ctrl+A Ctrl+C to copy content from notepad. but similar thing is not working with this application.

I wonder is the application resisting automation? I think atleast mouseclick copy to clipboard should work since that is working manually. Please somebody suggest what I can do.

Thanks.

Some observations and suggestions:

1. The WinWait() function returns a window handle, not a string, so check for zero (failure) or non-zero (a handle - success)