TheSaint

Virtual INI UDF & ASCII Checker

I had a need, and so I developed.

Before I did that though, I did a quick search of the forum, and found a few things, but none seemed to suit what I really wanted ... though to be honest, I did not investigate them deeply or search extensively. In any case, I am not very good at modifying the code of others, nor do I enjoy doing so, so in the end I decided it was best to start from scratch ... re-inventing the wheel perhaps, but a wheel I feel a certain degree of comfort with. I also thought about Maps, but don't know enough.

_IniString Functions (was Ini_InMem)

Ini in memory

Settings INI - Read/Write once to the disk

INI File Processing Functions

... sure to be others.

As with all my stuff, feel free to use (no guarantees) or modify ... just give me credit where due.

I always go for the quick & simple approach, as those who know me here, are well aware, so without a doubt, my code could be improved - sped up, RegExp used, etc. So feel free to do that, and convert into a proper UDF, if you want, following best practices etc, as I am sure others will appreciate it.

Some background.
I have been a long time user and fan of INI files. I realize, they have their issues, and in many cases you are no doubt better off using XML, SQL or other (be assured though, they all have their own issues). But if your needs are simple, and you want quick coding and processing, then INI files are hard to beat.