rip data from multiple files and write it to excel

I am just learning about this scripting tool and was wondering if some of you veterans here could enlighten me. I was wondering if it would be possible to take several (possibly thousands) of text files that all have pretty much the same structure and reading each file, pulling the data (text) out of the file and writing it to a spreadsheet, then going to the next text file, writing that data to row #2 of the spreadsheet and so on into a loop until all text files in that folder have been read?

The info is contained in each file, I already know I want the info to be extracted out of each file. For example, I need all of the information out of file #1 to be copied into row#1 of the spreadsheet, then I need all of the info in file#2 to be inserted/copied into row#2 of the spreadsheet, and so on.

My question is more centered around how do I get a script to do this if the text files have some text I don't want inserted such as html tags. All of the files however have the same layout and internal structure, they just have different data. The html files are basically "View, source, save" of web pages of business listings. I have saved all of these as txt files and now want a script to extract the business listings out of the html code from the text files and save them all in a spreadsheet or MDB or some sort of database I can use to sort the listings and build mailing lists from

i think you might understand it like this...

there is a hard way and an easy way to do this

1 hard way

we siffer through the downloaded files and find the info you want... then place it in the correct cell in the correct row and in the correct column of the excell program that is already open

2 easy way

we siffer through the downloaded files and find the info you want... then place in a file named "address.csv"..

then run excell with that file

Since you seem to be new and would need guidence, i strongly suggest the easy way

8)