Super-Nerb here!

warcrow

I DL the latest verison of Autoit. Wow. :whistle: It's much more complicated than I thought. I'm not a programming guy, so this is a little imtimidating -but I'm not giving up! :">

So, here is my scenario:

I want to automate the installation of a pretty big application (20 mins of patching and running executables, registration info). I want to have autoit basically install as much of this application as possible.

Can someone point me toward the tutorials or walkthrough that would be applicable to this? I've gone through the Autoit 1-2-3 (posted here in the forums) and I was getting errors messages throughout it, looking for a beta or something. But, despite that, it doesnt look to cover anything I need to install, click buttons, and enter information in text boxes.

Help. :P

Thanks in advanced guys! ;)

Alright you could start with what needs to be installed. Files/folders/registry keys etc... Then how do you want it to be autmoated? Do you want to create start menu shortcuts etc. Do you want it like the installshield where it prompts for all that? (Everything you say yes to makes it more difficult to program, but its all possible)

Have you opened the helpfile yet? You should also download beta here:

http://www.autoitscript.com/autoit3/files/beta/autoit/

(Download autoit-v3.2.1.11-beta-setup.exe, or the .zip, put it in *\beta)

Alright you could start with what needs to be installed. Files/folders/registry keys etc... Then how do you want it to be autmoated? Do you want to create start menu shortcuts etc. Do you want it like the installshield where it prompts for all that? (Everything you say yes to makes it more difficult to program, but its all possible)

Have you opened the helpfile yet? You should also download beta here:

http://www.autoitscript.com/autoit3/files/beta/autoit/

(Download autoit-v3.2.1.11-beta-setup.exe, or the .zip, put it in *\beta)