Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Dethredic

Chemical Equation Simulator

9 posts in this topic

This program will take 2 given reactants and give you the product.

Working

Ion + Ion

Ion + Polyatomic Ion

Polyatomic Ion + Polyatomic Ion

Still To Do

Compound + Element

Compound + Compound

May be larger combinations

As I do not claim to be a chemistry pro (I just started learning about it this year) I could use some help. I do not know if it is possible to do the Compound + Compound / Compound + Element with any degree of accuracy.

If someone is good at chemistry and wants to help please PM me.

Chemical_Equation_Simulator.zip

"Its not about the 30 inch 1080p display, or the SLI 8800 ultras, or the DDR3 memory. It's about when you turn on your PC, does it return the favor?"Math is like sex. Sure, it may give some practical results, but that is not why we do it

Cool, now come out with a version for the TI calculators. xD

[center][/center]Working on the next big thing.Currently Playing: Halo 4, League of LegendsXBL GT: iRememberYhslaw

#3 ·  Posted (edited)

Hmm, that is a monumental task your doing, if you plan to do it right. First thing i would do it program simple check for the simpler reaction eg. a hydrocarbon (CHO) + O2 -> CO2 + H2O is always going to be combustion. What you are going to have to do is use an algorithm (fancy word :whistle: ) to generate possible products. The first thing you are going to want to do is get a list of all "common" oxidation states for all the known elements. Parse that and then start building the script to analyze and match up what you have for reactants with the possible combinations for products and attempt to balance it. This could be very interesting. I would be more than happy to help you but I'm going to be tied up for the most part for the next two weeks as i have a term paper I'm working on. After that if i have some spare time I'll see what i can work up.

@fear1313