Newbie that needs some help

Hi, I'm new to Autoitscript, and need some assistance on the best way to go about accomplishing the following:

I am going to create a script for some file editing, and plan on compiling it to an exe. What I want to do, is be able to use a hot key to run the compiled exe while I'm inside the file editor. Can this be done? Do I need two files (one for the hot key assignment, and another for my autoitscript exe for use in my file editor)? If so, what would the script for the hot key look like? Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Also, a little off topic, but does anyone know of a good free file editor that I could use to edit files, and do some txt replacing in certain positions (columns)?

Thanks in advance.

what do you mean by file editor?

By file editor, I mean SPF/PC which is the file utility I am planning on using at the moment. What I will be doing is pulling each of my files up that needs editing within SPFPC, and run the script to apply the changes. Not sure if this answers your question????

By file editor, I mean SPF/PC which is the file utility I am planning on using at the moment. What I will be doing is pulling each of my files up that needs editing within SPFPC, and run the script to apply the changes. Not sure if this answers your question????

If I understand you correctly you want
  • an uncompiled (.au3) AutoIt script to allow you to use a HotKey (see HotKeySet() in Help)
  • said HotKey will act as a macro and call a second compiled (.exe) AutoIt script
  • said .exe script will then load files into an editor (SPF/PC)
  • --- modify the files within the editor
  • --- save modified files
  • .exe script will then stop
  • .au3 file will continue to loop until offering the use of HotKey until you exit .au3 script