Odd Issue with MMC

Go to solution Solved by tweakster2010,

To anyone who has played with MMC on a basic level(I am still learning so going over the top might take me a minute to figure out).

The script I have setup runs elevated with administrator ID and a regular ID which is how my job is setup. Now when I trigger anything with MMC it has a tissy over it unless I manually access MMC first.

AKA 

$iPID = RunAs(GuiCtrlRead($Username), "domain", GuiCtrlRead($Pass), 0, "mmc C:\Windows\system32\printmanagement.msc")

Now when I go into command prompt and run mmc C:\Windows\System32\printmanagement.msc i run into the same problem but when I go to administrative tools and right click run as my admin ID it works fine and I can then use the script with no issues and run from command prompt no issues. Strangely I think its related to policies but I am not sure how to retain that aspect on a reboot. Any insight would be amazing :)

I do have #RequireAdmin attached to it.

Thanks in advance

• Moderators

Can you explain what your end goal is? Deploying Printers in a domain, or locally? Deleting Printers? Checking Print Job status? There is likely a way of accomplishing what you want without automating the Snap-In GUI.

"Profanity is the last vestige of the feeble mind. For the man who cannot express himself forcibly through intellect must do so through shock and awe" - Spencer W. Kimball

How to get your question answered on this forum!

The goal is access to the default view for ADUC/Printer Management/Computer Management. I currently have my main function is set to be a tray icon that you click the links in it and it launches the website/program etc.

It is more or less we troubleshoot and correct issues and short of just making a link on our desktop to said tools and right click running as all the time this gives us a shortcut :)