Basic behaviour of script in a dos box

sorry if my question seems stupid, I am an autoIt beginner.

I would like to make a AutoIt script build as an exe synchronous:

In this script I make a simple winwait("my caption","",100000) in order to wait for a window to appear.

Then I run this exe in a dos box. My problem is that the exe returns immediately while I was expecting a synchronous execution waiting for the window to appear before returning.

The process of the script is still running as seen in Task Manager and the script is "paused" as it is shown

in the system tray.

Thanks in advance

sorry if my question seems stupid, I am an autoIt beginner.

I would like to make a AutoIt script build as an exe synchronous:

In this script I make a simple winwait("my caption","",100000) in order to wait for a window to appear.

Then I run this exe in a dos box. My problem is that the exe returns immediately while I was expecting a synchronous execution waiting for the window to appear before returning.

The process of the script is still running as seen in Task Manager and the script is "paused" as it is shown

in the system tray.

Thanks in advance

Welcome to AutoIt, this really is a great tool and forum. Its amazing how this stuff becomes easier after reading the millions of code examples there. I'm not complete sure what you're wanting to do, but I'm going to guess reading up on the following commands in the help file. Maybe one of them will give you what you need?

- Run ( "filename" [, "workingdir" [, flag[, standard_i/o_flag]]] )

- RunWait ( "filename" [, "workingdir" [, flag]] )

- ShellExecute ( "filename" [, "parameters" [, "workingdir" [, "verb" [, showflag]]]] )

- ShellExecuteWait ( "filename" [, "parameters" [, "workingdir" [, "verb" [, showflag]]]] )