Sign in to follow this  
Matterz

Reading from an active file?

Matterz

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to AutoIt. I've been writing scripts and searching this forum constantly for the last week. However, I haven't been able to find a good solution for my script yet.

Basically I am running a program that writes to a log file. I'd like my AutoIt script to parse the file and react when certain words are found.

I tried using FileOpen() and FileRead() with the marker pointing to the last line. However, the program is constantly writing to the file and making my AutoIt script constantly read and possible miss lines or read the same line repeatedly seems like a bad approach.

Is there a way to be constantly monitoring what is written to the file other than using repeated FileRead() [or FileReadLine()] commands?

----

I hope my question is clear. Thanks for any advice.

PsaltyDS

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to AutoIt. I've been writing scripts and searching this forum constantly for the last week. However, I haven't been able to find a good solution for my script yet.

Basically I am running a program that writes to a log file. I'd like my AutoIt script to parse the file and react when certain words are found.

I tried using FileOpen() and FileRead() with the marker pointing to the last line. However, the program is constantly writing to the file and making my AutoIt script constantly read and possible miss lines or read the same line repeatedly seems like a bad approach.

Is there a way to be constantly monitoring what is written to the file other than using repeated FileRead() [or FileReadLine()] commands?

----

I hope my question is clear. Thanks for any advice.

Two obvious possibilities:

1. Read to an array with _FileReadToArray(), keeping track of what line was last checked and only review the array from that index forward.

2. Keep track of how many lines there are in the file with _FileCountLines() and only read new lines with FileReadLine().

:)