Why Autoit instead of VB? For Novice

I apologize if this is a uninformed question. I want to automate how I use win xp. So I am wondering if Autoit is for me. I suspect that Autoit has a greater range of features than VB, but since I am just starting out I don't have the information to say either way. It does seem much better, more powerful than autohk. Where am I wrong in the following assumptions?

Autoit--------------------------Visual Basic

free-------------------------- Expensive 100.00

learning curve weeks------------learning curve months

send keys-----------------------send keys

recording macro-----------------?

skillful user employable?-------skillful user 40k salary to start

user base 1,000s----------------user base millions

lifespan years------------------lifespan decades

useful lifespan years?----------useful lifespan decades

skill transferable?-------------no need given size of VB

learning resources?------------learning resources, texts, pain & unpaid support lots

os dependent--------------------os dependent

Am I missing any important analysis?

Edited by meatsack

AutoIt can do anything you want it to, as can VB. VB has a few peculiarities such as a runtime being required (few people don't have this by now) and is no longer being actively developed. AutoIt has no runtime and is still being updated (just got an update within the last day or so).

This board alone has some 34000 members, who are users of AutoIt. There are even more who don't have forum accounts. AutoIt is used in many businesses now due to the speed in which many tasks can be accomplished. AutoIt can be considered a Rapid Application Development (RAD) platform.

AutoIt was originally designed to automate installers and similar things. Now it can automate clicking and typing to almost any window. As it is, few languages have built in tools for automation, which is what AutoIt is used most for.

Thanks so much for your response.