Control a non-native GUI?

cag8f

I'm relatively new to Autoit. As I understand, I can use Autoit to create a new window, complete with tabs, radio buttons, drop down menus, etc. But can I use Autoit to control a pre-existing application that has its own GUI (it's own tabs, radio buttons, drop down menus, etc.)? I know I can explicitly move the mouse around the GUI and simulate keystrokes, but is there a more elegant/efficient way of accomplishing this? I nosed around the forums and Google but couldn't find anything. I'm not looking for someone to necessarily hold my hand throughout the process, but if this can be done, I'll just need a nudge in the right direction; perhaps a tutorial or sticky post.

Hello cag8f,

You forgot to check one of the most important tools....the 'Help File'.

With very little information on what it is that you want to automate, its just as difficult to tell you the tools to do it with.

Some Questions & Answer for the basics:

Q: Can I automate Internet Explorer?

A: Yes, There is a wonderful IE library that can be found in the 'User Defined Functions Reference' of the Help File called 'IE Management' and is bundle in your includes folder named 'IE.au3'

Q: Can i automate a Windows Application?

A: Mostly Yes. Most Basic Windows Applications can be automated with many of the fabulous 'Control' Functions allowing automation to be done in the background or minimized, in most cases. However there are some Windows Applications that resist Control Automation, and even some Applications that Mask their controls. In those rare cases, You are limited to basic MouseClick and other functions that take control of your mouse and keyboard commands, Unless of coarse it is resisting the automation.

Some Funtions for these purposes are:

ControlCommand()

ControlClick()

ControlSend() ...and many more!