Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Flok3r

FileWrite: Problem with spaces and linebreaks

10 posts in this topic

Hi,

I am new to AutoIt and this forum has already helped me a looot :x , but this time i need help.

I want to write a .bat file mirroring 2 folders and execute it after a button has been pressed. Its content should look like:

cd /d %~dp0

robocopy "F:\" D:\MyRescue\ /L /TEE /ETA /TS /R:5 /W:1 /ZB /MIR /COPYALL /LOG:"C:\Users\Flok3r\Desktop\MyScript\mirrorlog.txt" /XD "$RECYCLE.BIN" "RECYCLER" "System Volume Information\" "_MyFiles\Games"

(the part after "cd.." is one line)

But when autoit runs (everything is one line):

FileWrite('mirror.cmd', 'cd /d %~dp0' & @CR & 'robocopy "' & $mrp & '" ' & $mrd & ' /L /TEE /ETA /TS /R:5 /W:1 /ZB /MIR /COPYALL /LOG:"' & @ScriptDir & '\mirrorlog.txt"' & ' /XD ' & '"\$RECYCLE.BIN"' & ' "RECYCLER"' & ' "System Volume Information\"' & ' "\_MyFiles\Games"')

The content of the mirror.cmd is:

cd /d %~dp0

robocopy "F:\

" D:\MyRescue\

/L /TEE /ETA /TS /R:5 /W:1 /ZB /MIR /COPYALL /LOG:"C:\Users\Flok3r\Desktop\MyScript\mirrorlog.txt" /XD "\$RECYCLE.BIN" "RECYCLER" "System Volume Information\" "\_MyFiles\Games"

Where do these 2 linebreaks come from, how can i avoid that?

It is probably a simple mistake, but I didnt find anything about that special case, neither in the web nor in this helpful forum.

Thanks in advance, every advice is welcome ;D.. and sorry for my ignorance in case i missed something really simple :P

Flok3r.

#2 ·  Posted (edited)

Flok3r,

wherever you want to insert a line break use the macro @CRLF, not @CR

e.g. "FileWrite('mirror.cmd', 'cd /d %~dp0' & @CRLF & 'robocopy "' & $mrp & '" ' & $mrd &..."

kylomas

Edit: also watch your single and double quotes

Edit2: your "&" after $mrp may be misplaced.

Edit3: Flok3r, sorry about that, your "&"'s need to occur outside of the quotes..@CR may work, don't know I always use @CRLF.

Edited by kylomas

Forum Rules         Procedure for posting code