Selecting and Copying Text

Hi,

Newbie here. (Sorry about that!) I'm trying to copy text in a window that I have open.

I figured out how to:

Make the window be my active window

search for the occurrence of the text I want

but I'm having trouble figuring out how to highlight the text so that I can send a control C. I tried using the mouseclickdrag function, but it sees my mouse as being in my Windows folder where I just double-clicked the script to run, not in the active window that contains the text.

So how do I grab the text from the window? Do I have to move my mouse to the active window (if so how?) or is there another way to highlight text without moving my mouse there?

TIA,

Susie

So...just to make sure I get the basic concept...

I have an email that has a bunch of text in it, and then:

Name: John Doe

I'm trying to copy 'John Doe' to the clipboard.

So I thought I had to maneuver to the beginning of John by using Find, etc. and then somehow copy it. But it looks like the Win or Control GetText functions will give me the text of the entire window.

So are you saying that the way to do it is to grab all the text of the window and then somehow get John Doe out of it? If so, how do I parse through the text? I assume I save it to a variable first.

Or is there a different way I should be doing this?

Thanks, Susie

Hi,

Ok, the first part is working. I have all the data I want stored into variables.

So now I'm trying to paste into forms on a web page. I can't quite get it to work. First of all, when I use AutoIt Window Info it shows me that all of the input fields on the web page have the same control id. The only thing that varies are the x y coordinates.

So I tried

ControlFocus("window title", "", "[X:597;Y:240]")

Send ($firstname)