FileInstall() - Dev team recommended limits?

Howdy,

A quick question for the dev team - what's the official direction on the limitations of FileInstall, and its intended usage? Eg, "It shouldn't be used for files over **** in size", etc.

The reason I'm asking is that I'm looking at a situation where I might have to have up to 4GB of data bundled into a single AutoIt script using FileInstall, and the data to be included is a single 4GB file. Searching through the forums here, I've found posts indicating that FileInstall was only ever intended to include small files with scripts, and other posts suggesting that FileInstall was expressly designed for including whatever files a user needed with their scripts, regardless of size, etc. The function documentation doesn't include any guidelines.

Thanks,

John

I'm not an expert by any means, but personally, I wouldn't pack 4 gigs in an executable. If I'm not mistaken, when you run the executable, it is loaded in memory. If the computer doesn't have enough memory to load the file, it can be a problem (most older computers have 1 or 2 gigs - or less). Second, extracting 4 gigs will take some time. And after the files are extracted, each time you run the file, you will load the 4 gig executable every time you run it. It sound a bit ridiculous to me.

I would just include the files in the script directory. Package them in an installer if you want to include everything in one package. The best and easiest installer is Inno Setup. Your program will run much faster this way.

#include <ByteMe.au3>

I'm not a Dev, but I do have some experience with this.

In the past I have tried including installation files in a script that would unpack and then run the installation. Seemed like a good idea at the time, but I quickly moved away from that approach.

I had the following problems when including files. (up to 8GB)