uniquely identify a window

Hi all,

Just a newbie here...

Tried to use WinList() and ProcessList() to uniquely identify a window.

Problem is that the ProcessList() that I'm looking for "VMAGIC.EXE" between 2 sessions of VMAGIC.EXE are the same of course, but the WinList() title between the 2 sessions are different. Yes the titles are different...wildly different.

Why I need to know?

Server environment. 2+ sessions of VMAGIC.EXE running. Each one doing its own keystroke macro Send() thang. I need to open my session of VMAGIC.EXE and do my Send() thang to it.

Got any ideas? between WinGetClassList(), ProcessList(), and WinList() I can't find a way to "relate" any of the information from them all. If I could I'd probably have this licked!

Thanks,

Robin

I truely do not understand your problem - but you have had no replies - so, I'll try and help.

You say that you have multple sessions of VMAGIC running - each with a different title. If you start "your session of VMAGIC" will the title be unique from the others? (just use the AutoIt Window Info tool to determine this) If the title is unique, then you can rename it using WinSetTitle before sending keys to it... or use WinGetHandle and "send" things to the window via the "control" series of functions.

later...

[size="1"][font="Arial"].[u].[/u][/font][/size]

I truely do not understand your problem - but you have had no replies - so, I'll try and help.

You say that you have multple sessions of VMAGIC running - each with a different title. If you start "your session of VMAGIC" will the title be unique from the others? (just use the AutoIt Window Info tool to determine this) If the title is unique, then you can rename it using WinSetTitle before sending keys to it... or use WinGetHandle and "send" things to the window via the "control" series of functions.

later...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Well..."using WinSetTitle before sending keys to it".

Good one! I'll give it a try and reply back with results.