Simulate POWER key

Zwilk

Maybe I first have to mention I am a complete layman in programming. I have done HTML5 and CSS3, but I understand this is complete different.

A while ago I was asked to use a Teensy 2.0 as USB emulator. The intention was to shut Windows down with this emulator. My task was to write a code by using the following scan codes, found on www.win.tue.nl. 

Set-1 make/brake     Set-2 make/brake
Power    e0 5e / e0 de            e0 37 / e0 f0 37
Sleep     e0 5f / e0 df              e0 3f / e0 f0 3f
Wake     e0 63 / e0 e3             e0 5e / e0 f0 5e 

So on the internet I found AutoIt when I searched for keystrokes. My question is: how can I use AutoIt to simulate the power key? Is there a possibility to use the above called information to shut down a Windows PC? 

I hope someone has a solution to help me.

Best regards,
Zwilk
Edited by Zwilk

Hi Zwik,

welcome to the AutoIT forums :)

if you're looking to shutdown the pc, you could just use a hidden command prompt to achieve this:

run(@comspec & " /c shutdown /s /t 0","",@SW_HIDE)

the @COMSPEC is an AutoIT macro (it is the directory to cmd, so AutoIT runs command prompt)

the /c is a cmd parameter meaning execute this code

the rest is command line syntax for the shutdown command (/s is local, /t is the time in which to shutdown, 0 being immediately)

the second parameter of the  run function is the working directory for the program being run.

The third and final parameter used "@SW_HIDE" is the AutoIT macro for hiding a window, Meaning the cmd won't pop up on the screen.

Hopefully this helps you acheive what you're after?

I've attempted to go into detail, but if you need further explanation, Just let me know?

Many Thanks

Javi

EDIT: Just re-read your original request, If you're required to use those codes, then I'm afraid I don't know how to achieve this in AutoIT. Hopefully one of the more experienced coders on here can lend a hand :)

Edited by javiwhite