MSI File as Administrator

LancIT

Hi guys,

I'm trying to run a simple .MSI file as our Domain Admin account to install something.

I'm totally new to this and my scripting skills are... Poor, so any help really appreciated. 

I've tried reading up, but so far I'm stuck.

Here's my script - Don't laugh!

; Script Start - Add your code below here
Local $sUserName = "account"
Local $sPassword = "password"
Local $sDomain = "domain"

RunAsWait($sUserName, $sDomain, $sPassword, 0, ("msiexec /i "C:FileInstaller.msi""))

i get this error:
Line 6 (File "C:File.au3"):

RunAsWait($sUserName, $sDomain, $sPassword, 0, ("msiexec /i "C:FileInstaller.msi""))
RunAsWait($sUserName, £sDomain, $sPassword, 0, ("msiexec /i "C:^ ERROR

Error: Unable to parse line.

I've tried many different variations, but it still keeps failing... Tell me I'm missing something really silly, or the script is just totally wrong??
Edited by LancIT

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

If you want to use doublequotes inside a string delimited by doublequotes, you need to double the doublequotes (autoit's way of "escaping", many other languages do it by placing a backslash in front of them).

So instead of "this string contains " a doublequote", you write: "this string contains "" a doublequote".

Because you did not, your string is terminated after the "/i " part and the rest C:...blah... is interpreted as AutoIt language instead of as the rest of your string. As it is not valid AutoIt language, the procedure fails.

Also, it should not be necessary to put the file inside of parentheses.

Try:

RunAsWait($sUserName, $sDomain, $sPassword, 0, "msiexec /i ""C:\File\Installer.msi""")

Note that at the end, there are three doublequotes. The first two to make one doublequote in the string, and the third to end the string.