UI Testing

monkeyfoot

Howdy folks -

I'm a web developer - I don't sling html... I usually work on backend components (databases, cgi, serverside exec stuff). Anyhow, I'm new to AutoIt, and i'm really impressed thus far. I've written a couple

of scripts to do some automation around here, and it got me to thinking....

B) Has anyone written AutoIt code to walk through UI testing of web components in popular browsers?

This is something that takes us a tremendous amount of time around here, and causes alot of headaches. Primarily what i'm concerned with is the following:

1. Link Validation - Do all the links on a given site resolve towhere they're supposed to?

2. Testing of alpha stage sites via different browsers - (for instance - does www.xxyyzz.com look the same in firefox as it does in IE, opera, etc)

3. Does form based data behave the way it's supposed to...(ie...Send ("test_username"), Send("test_phone") yada yada...

I've mucked around with the idea a little bit, but as I said, i'm pretty new to AutoIt, so it's going painfully slowly.

The one thing i've noticed about the window info tool is that when looking at web browser data, it doesn't seem to pick up any Control IDs for things that are web generated (presumably since Control IDs correlate to Windows controls). Are there any outside libs for stuff like this? Any thoughts on how to approach it?

The only way i've been able to conceive testing of this type of app thus far is to figure out the exact pixel locations of every link / form data on a page, and then have them use MouseMove() to go back and forth.

Example:

Func FireFoxRoutines () ;Browsing Actions for Firefox

WinActivate ("Mozilla Firefox", "")

MouseMove ( 589, 350 , 3 ) ; form1

MouseMove ( 589, 500 , 3 ) ; link_pos

MouseMove ( 589, 650 , 3 ) ; link2_pos

MouseMove ( 589, 850 , 3 ) ; link3_pos

EndFunc

Anyhow, just some initial thoughts. I think alot of people could potentially benefit from UI validation.

Thoughts?