AutoIT Development Process / Verification Status

Draksyl

Firstly apologies in advance if this isn't the right area of the forums to ask the questions below - but there didn't seem to be anywhere else more appropriate?

I work in the Aerospace industry and we have some pretty strict rules regarding the set of tools we are allowed to use to build our systems.  Part of these rules includes the need to conduct formal qualification on any part of the toolset used to design the system, or to prove that the system meets the necessary functional, safety, security and regulatory requirements.

I understand that the AutoIT Script Compiler (and related tools) are provided on a strict 'As-Is' basis for use by the community (as per the AutoIT Licence) - but would like to understand a little more about the process and lifecycle used to develop and release incremental tool versions over time - particularly with regards to verification / regression testing.

• Is there a standard library of unit tests against which each new release is checked? 
  • Would any such unit tests potentially be releasable to a third party company (with or without NDA), or are they proprietary and only to be used by the core development team?
  • Could any additional information be released publically or privately about the tools verification status?

I did have a quick search of the forums but didn't find any information about what the development and verification process was for AutoIT?

My hope is that by finding out a little more about the way in which the tool is developed, managed, and verified before release that we can minimise any additional qualification testing required to prove to the regulatory authorities that the tool is 'fit for purpose' for test automation tasks.

Im also sure given the widespread use of AutoIT for test automation in the IT Industry that others within the community will have a similar interest in the tools verification status.