Icon Detection

Goodday all,

I am new to the discussion group and would like to find out how to detect the presence and location of an icon on the desktop. I have hunted through the forums without luck and found no reference to icons in the documentation. I would like to run (select) and modify program properties of certain icons on the desktop automatically using autoit. Icons location seems to vary on different machines desktops. Say for instance, I would like to go into the properties of the "My Computer" icon, how would you find it?

Thanks

Saddle.

I would like to run (select) and modify program properties of certain icons on the desktop automatically using autoit. Icons location seems to vary on different machines desktops....

There is usually a better way.

If you want to simulate right-click, properties on the My Computer icon, there are at least two ways:

Send("#{Pause}")

Run("control.exe sysdm.cpl")

How do I know these? See http://www.virtualplastic.net/html/misc_cut.html#5 for similar info.

(If you were instead wanting to modify the properties of a desktop shortcut, then you'd need FileFindFirstFile, FileGetShortcut, and FileCreateShortcut which might only be in the latest beta version of AutoIt.)

Good luck

Use Mozilla | Take a look at My Disorganized AutoIt stuff | Very very old: AutoBuilder 11 Jan 2005 prototype I need to update my sig!

Thankyou for the reply.