Autoit used for malware reasons

Well.. another lamer has chosen the bad way. I'm in an irc-security mailing list and saw a message about an autoit bot. Maybe someone already contacted an admin, or jon himself, so I guess this post would be deleted/closed if that's the case.

> The botmaster was JohnWayne [asd@d006150.adsl.hansenet.de] JohnWayne
>
> The majority of the bots were connecting from Taiwan and Hong Kong IPs
> with a few from Poland, Malaysia and the US as well.

I've uploaded the executable files so you can decode them if possible and give me some more info about how they work or who to contact in order to stop them, since i'm not an expert :)

The following zipped file contains malware executables. DO NOT RUN IF YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING.

www.se ndspa ce.com/file /m8m rrc

remove the spaces.

Password: pm me (I will only give it to trustworthy persons, the rest will not receive a reply.)

The upload will be killed once this is confirmed to be resolved.

haha finally credit is given where it is due.

Too bad it gains the wrong kind of attention for the UDF authors.

These things happen all the time. Browsed through a certain little "hacker" mag the other day at the bookstore while the wife checked out her crafting mags. Saw lots of examples of autoit code in there. Either Autoit is getting more popular, or the quality of hackers has gone down the tubes. (prolly both)

Unless it is something to become newsworthy, I don't think we can attack every mal script we find.

I am also happy as Autoit was created to be simple to understand, quick to learn, and productive without the time consumption. These examples only prove that that vision was a success.

Edited by Coffee

• 3 weeks later...

I'm sorry to bring this up again, v1 is resolved, but v2 and v3 are still pending and crawling in the servers.

I'd be grateful if someone decode the source for 2 and 3. I've reuploaded the sources:

-removed ... have the source -