Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
YFNCG

Newbie Question

14 posts in this topic

I just stumbled across this gem of a program and WOW is all I can say. I am a system administrator and the possibilities this opens up for automating repetitve tasks is awesomw.

I am trying to write several scripts at the moment that will check for the existence of a particular "key file" and then perfom some file manipulation if the file is found. If the file is not found, for instance the first time the script is run, I need to be able to create an empty text file with a certain name in a particular place on the local hard drive. I have been unable to figure out how to create such a file from within a script. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks.

JW

Look at _FileCreate in the helpfile/documentation. That should be what your are looking for. Also, look at FileFindFirstFile and FileFindNextFile to help you look for the files.

_____________________________________________________"some people live for the rules, I live for exceptions"Wallpaper Changer - Easily Change Your Windows Wallpaper

OK I took a look at the _FileCreate and I think I understand how it works. I have completed my script but when I try to run it nothing happens. I am planning to compile this and send it out to my users as an aid in troubleshooting network connectivity. Here is the script code:

$TARGET = INPUTBOX("PING TARGET ENTRY", "Please enter the Hostname or URL you need to PING:", "", " M",)

;

If NOT FileExists ( @WindowsDir\"ip.txt" ) then

#include

_FileCreate(@WindowsDir\"ip.txt") ; Make a throwaway file to avoid error on first run

Endif

SplashTextOn("Information on Ping Request", "Please be patient ! , The Ping of %TARGET% is running. Results will display shortly.")

Sleep, 2000

FileDelete (@WindowsDir\ip.txt)

Sleep, 2000

Ping -n=5 %TARGET% >> @WindowsDir\ip.txt ,,hide

Sleep, 10000

SplashOff

Run, notepad @WindowsDir\ip.txt

Sleep, 2000

WinSetState(ip.txt - Notepad, "",@SW_MAXIMIZE)

Exit