What am I missing here?

I am trying to create a script which can be run in a directory full of text files with names that are in a numeric order, ie., 2003.txt, 2004.txt, etc. I want to read each file's first line, change the spaces to _'s and copy the file (or rename) it with this.

So if file 2003.txt had this 'How to train your dog' as the first line, the script would create/copy that file to a file named 'How_to_train_your_dog'. It would even be nice to add the .txt extension back on. I have a somewhat working script, which is giving me some odd behaviour. I am extremely new to this AutoIT stuff, but here is what I have so far:

;Get first filename and put into variable
$search = FileFindFirstFile("*.*") 

; Check if the search was successful
If $search = -1 Then
    MsgBox(0, "Error", "No files/directories matched the search pattern")
    Exit
EndIf

; Process files
While 1
        ;Set my new filename and string variables to nothing.
    $file2 = ""; 
    $name = "";

;Get filename into $file
    $file = FileFindNextFile($search)
    If @error Then 
        ConsoleWrite("Error with FileFindNextFile")
        Exit
    EndIf

;Read the first line this will be the new filename
    $line = FileReadLine($file)
    If @error = -1 Then 
        ConsoleWrite("Error with FileReadLine")
        Exit
    EndIf

;create a new filename, strip the whitespace
    $name = StringStripWS(StringReplace($line, " ", "_"),8)
    If @error = -1 Then 
        ConsoleWrite("Error with StringReplace")
        Exit
    EndIf

;i was hoping this would give the desired result.
    $file2 = FileOpen($name, 2)
    If @error = -1 Then 
        ConsoleWrite("Error with FileOpen")
        Exit
    EndIf

FileCopy($file,$file2)
    If @error = -1 Then 
        ConsoleWrite("Error with FileCopy")
        Exit
    EndIf
Wend

FileClose($search)
FileClose($file)
FileClose($file2)