Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Tiger1vic

Using Send and capturing responses

2 posts in this topic

Hello all. I am still a beginner with AutoIt and have written a script to automate the configuration of network cards in our UPS's. I launched telnet and used 'Send' commands to do most of this, and for the most part it works well.

There are two parts to my question. First, the use of 'Send' works well as long as you leave the telnet window open and with focus. If you forget this rule and inadvertently click another window, it keeps 'Send'ing to that other window, regardless of what's in it. So if for example, you click on a Word doc, it starts modifying your doc with the AutoIt keystrokes -- yikes! I'm wondering if there's a way I can protect my system (preferably without pausing the script) from this behaviour. In other words, can it continue sending keystrokes to the telnet program in the background if another window becomes active? I figured I could have it pause the script if another window gets focus, but then I couldn't continue working on something else while the script is running. I would still have to return to the script and wait idly for it to finish.

The other part of my question is actually another question, but it's a companion to this one :P

Before I run this updating process, I have to grab the current configuration off the UPS, because part of my update is a firmware upgrade which sets everything back to defaults. So.... I would like to somehow use AutoIt to 'grab' the current configuration before I do the firmware update. Then part 2 would be to replace that original configuration using my existing script.