Delete Directory Using Wildcard

I am creating a multiple .exe installer, and want to delete a directory. The path is C:\Documents and Settings\svc\Desktop\OpenOffice.org 2.2 Installation Files My problem is that the user will vary. What do I need to do to have the "svc" as a wildcard? I'm new to autoit and this is my first script. Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the forums!

There are macros that may help you. Use the @DesktopDir macro for the logged-in user's desktop...

@UserName may help too, but there's no guarantee that the User ID matches the profile name.

Also, if you're installing those files yourself, consider putting them in a temporary directory, like @TempDir.

[font="Tahoma"]"Tougher than the toughies and smarter than the smarties"[/font]

Welcome to the forums!

There are macros that may help you. Use the @DesktopDir macro for the logged-in user's desktop...

@UserName may help too, but there's no guarantee that the User ID matches the profile name.

Also, if you're installing those files yourself, consider putting them in a temporary directory, like @TempDir.

Thanks for the welcome. Dumb question how do I go about implementing the macro? I'm new to scripting/programing so I don't understand alot.

Based on your example, if you're logged in as "svc", @DesktopDir should expand to "C:\Documents and Settings\svc\Desktop".

Add the path from there to what you need and the result is:

DirRemove(@DesktopDir & "\OpenOffice.org 2.2 Installation Files", 1)

[font="Tahoma"]"Tougher than the toughies and smarter than the smarties"[/font]

Great Thank you so much. So the macros go first.

No, they don't go first, they go where they have to go. The one that was used returns:

%homedrive%\Documents and Settings\%username%\Desktop

As a result, it must be placed before the rest of the string.

It doesn't matter where they go: