Help with Pausing a Script

All-

I'm a newbie, and I'm really liking AutoIt.

I'm trying to do a data conversion, having AutoIt send keystrokes to a web-based application. I've used the AutoIt Windows Info, but the application seems to be coded in such a way that I'm having difficulty identifying the names of the textbox controls, so... I'm using mouse click and repeating a set of keystrokes over and over.

My problem is - I'm having difficulty determining the proper length of the 'Sleep' to use. Sometimes the script processes smoothly, other times the next set of sendkeys text gets garbled in the textbox (and saved - ick!)

So... Is my best option to have the script pause, until I press a key (once everything looks like it has processed? Or is there a better alternative. Of course, code samples are always appreciated.

Here is what my script looks like, I've played around with Sleep(1000), Sleep(5000), and I'm still having intermittent difficulties even with Sleep(10000).

Please Help!

MouseClick("left",458,390,2) ;focus on the text box

Sleep(100)

Send("3LBY PCGBHA") ;enter text into the text box (the line that changes in the repetitive process)

Sleep(100)

Send("{TAB}") ;tab to the save button

Sleep(100)

Send("{ENTER}") ; click the save button

Sleep(10000) ;sometimes doesn't work, and 3LCA PCGFAA appears in the text box with 3LBY PCGBHA

MouseClick("left",458,390,2)

Sleep(100)

Send("3LCA PCGFAA")

Sleep(100)

Send("{TAB}")

Sleep(100)

Send("{ENTER}")

Sleep(10000)

MouseClick("left",458,390,2)

Sleep(100)

Send("3LCB PCGEDA")

Sleep(100)

Send("{TAB}")

Sleep(100)

Send("{ENTER}")

Sleep(10000)

Would WinExists or WinActive be appropriate? Or if it's run through IE, Dale's IE.au3 library is most likely a better way to handle things.