Help needed with runing command in command prompt.

igorm

Hi

I need a little help.

I need to execute the following in command prompt:

cd C:\folder
FOR %%f IN (*.msp) DO msiexec /p %%f /a C:\folder_one\pro11.msi SHORTFILENAMES=TRUE /qb

I know that I can use Run(@ComSpec & " /c " & 'commandName', "", @SW_HIDE). But I need to execute both command's in same Command Prompt window.

Any help with this?

Thanks in advance for help.

Cheers :)

write a cmd file in %temp% and execute that file with RunWait(@comspec /c " & $filename). Something like that.

Hi

I need a little help.

I need to execute the following in command prompt:

cd C:\folder
FOR %%f IN (*.msp) DO msiexec /p %%f /a C:\folder_one\pro11.msi SHORTFILENAMES=TRUE /qb

I know that I can use Run(@ComSpec & " /c " & 'commandName', "", @SW_HIDE). But I need to execute both command's in same Command Prompt window.

Any help with this?

Thanks in advance for help.

Cheers :)

===============

I'm kinda new to participating in forums, but I'll see what I can do. Please help me understand better what you are trying to accomplish. What I see from looking at your code first off is that you do not need to use the command prompt to execute an MSI. Also, you need a RUN or RUNWAIT before the MSIEXEC. Remember, you are not launching the PRO11.MSI, you are launching MSIEXEC which in turn will do with the PRO11.MSI what it needs to.

I would assume you can run it using a similar command-line as I used for installing the Acrobat Reader 8.1:

RunWait('MSIEXEC.EXE /i "' & @ScriptDir & '\Acroread.msi" /qb')

I assume PRO11.MSI is Microsoft Office Professional 2003. It looks like your are trying to slipstream the patches into the PRO11.MSI. You should be able to form your full command-line to include the elements you need in the same line.