Check for the existence of a file every X seconds

Hi,

I've recently discovered and started using AutoIT (what an amazing scripting tool!) and have been piecing together my first script. I'm no coder and I've hit a bit of a brick wall in trying to get my script to check for the existence of a file every X seconds. Here's basically what my script does :

On the click of a button it picks up the current time, adds a minute to that, and rewrites an .XML config file (including current time plus one minute) that is referenced (at the current time plus one minute) by a service process that reads and imports a data file into a database. What I need in my script is a function that will check for when the data file disappears (is successfully processed) so that an appropriate message can be displayed to the user ... and if it isn't successfully processed after a given length of time then again a message is displayed.

The utility dialogue I've created is very simple consisting of three buttons ("Initiate Processing", "Reset Processing Time", and "Exit") and, quite importantly I think, displays a clock so that users have an idea of when processing was initiated and how long it is taking. Cribbing some code from the AutoIt Help I've tried various methods, and the one method I've think that works (using a For ... Next loop with Sleep() like in a progress meter) in respect of checking for the successful processing of the data file has the major disadvantage of stopping the clock while it is running. I just can't seem to get my head round how I can carry out a file-check every X seconds without interfering with the real-time operation of the clock. Does anybody out there have any experience of such a problem? Any advice would be much appreciated - many thanks in anticipation.

Hi xzaz,