PDF Printer

Vakari

Hello everyone. I am not a programmer by any means, and have recently stumbled upon AutoIT and am eager to learn as much as I can about it.

I'm in the process of making a few programs to help my pathetic life at work run a little smoother, and could use some input.

One of the few helpful programs I have created is designed to print PDFs for me. One of my jobs is to process information that all gets returned as PDF documents. Sometimes I only use 3 to 4 PDFs, other times I may have 150+. These all need to be printed and distributed as necessary.

I'm sure my code is quote inefficient, as I have never programmed anything before. I seem to get into jams with loops on occasion, and I think this might be the underlying cause for my problem. The systems at work are fairly decent, 3GHz Pentium 4s, 512MB unknown RAM. By the time this program gets to the 30th PDF, the fans in the system start picking up speed, and are soon running full blast. The performance monitor in task manager shows capped CPU usage at all times when it is running. I can't seem to figure out a way to minimize the use of the CPU when it isn't needed, for example, while waiting for the "Progress" bar in Acrobat to go away.

If anyone feels like looking at the code below, feel free to point out any rediculous things I threw in there. Once compiled, the executable is placed in the folder containing PDFs I need to print. Once executed, there is spare time to get a drink, etc. while it does its thing.

Note that one of the major functions I care about is skipping page 1 of each PDF. Its a summary page that nobody needs. And not that anyone would want it, I don't really care what you do with the code below. I'm sure anything that could possibly be done to it would make it better.

#Include <File.au3>
#Include <Array.au3>

HotKeySet("{Esc}", "Close")                                     ; Pressing 'Esc' closes the program

Opt("WinTitleMatchMode", 2)