Store text as a string help

Hello all. I'm new to Autoit and was hoping some kind sole might be able to help me. What I want to do is be able to select all the text on a given webpage and store it as a string. Then see if the word "total" is in the copied text, and if it is run a new explorer window. Here is how I am trying to do this.

CODE
$text = Send ( "^a^c" )

$compare = StringInStr ( "$text", "total", 0, 1 )

If $compare = 1 Then Run ( "explorer" , "" , @SW_MAXIMIZE )

I'm not storring the string right is my guess but I don't know how to display a stored string to see what it is. Is there a way I can open up Notepad.exe and paiste the copied string into it to check?

Thanks in advance for the help in advance:)

Hello all. I'm new to Autoit and was hoping some kind sole might be able to help me. What I want to do is be able to select all the text on a given webpage and store it as a string. Then see if the word "total" is in the copied text, and if it is run a new explorer window. Here is how I am trying to do this.

CODE
$text = Send ( "^a^c" )

$compare = StringInStr ( "$text", "total", 0, 1 )

If $compare = 1 Then Run ( "explorer" , "" , @SW_MAXIMIZE )

I'm not storring the string right is my guess but I don't know how to display a stored string to see what it is. Is there a way I can open up Notepad.exe and paiste the copied string into it to check?

Thanks in advance for the help in advance:)

Assuming Send("^a^c") does what you want it doesn't return the copied text, it puts it in the clipboard. So to get the text you need Clipget.

Send ( "^a^c" )

$text = ClipGet()

The IE.AU3 udf might have better functions for this though.