.dll Import and Export Functions

Please forgive me if I'm asking a dumb, but I'm new to working with .dll files and I'm getting as much information together as I can. I ask the autoit forums because the users here are the most helpful to me on the web. Thank you for that :)

What is the difference in between the 2 kinds of functions i am seeing in dll files. Import and Export? I understand export functions. What are the uses for import?

Edited by onestcoder

Need a website: http://www.iconixmarketing.com

Please forgive me if I'm asking a dumb, but I'm new to working with .dll files and I'm getting as much information together as I can. I ask the autoit forums because the users here are the most helpful to me on the web. Thank you for that :)

What is the difference in between the 2 kinds of functions i am seeing in dll files. Import and Export? I understand export functions. What are the uses for import?

Not really an expert on this but until a better explanation comes along, an import function is a function compiled in another module which is linked to the compiled dll, so the function might be called from the code in the dll, but you won't see the code for that function in the dll source. The import function will have to be declared as an import in some way which depends on the language, and the compiler will look for it in a linked module or library. Similar to when you use DllCall which I suppose could be called importing a function. In concept I think it is not so different to using a function in an include file. But perhaps the experts will frown on these comparisons.

Edited by martin