Vista UAC - your feedback please

Hi All -

I just fired off a couple of emails to Microsoft (probably won't do any good) but I thought I would post it here. If anyone is interested in this topic please leave feedback. I am a admin-for-hire who is finally trying to come up with some best practices for implementing Vista on SMB networks. Like it or not UAC is here to stay and needs to be left turned on in Vista, otherwise more problems will arise in the future. Right now I think I am stuck enabling/disabling UAC via Group Policy from time to time for my AutoIT and other scripts or allowing automatic/silent privilege elevation for Local Admins (another Group Policy setting).

Do any of you developers think it is possible to create an installable service that would allow AutoIT users to circumvent UAC prompts, kind of like how scheduled events do?

Here is my response to this junk documentation from Microsoft:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc709628.aspx

Hello -

I've been studying UAC for a couple of weeks now and I notice several deficincies in your documentation.

There appears to be no differentiation between Local Administrator and Domain Administrator. There is clearly different behavior with MMC tools and similar for users who are not Domain Admins and Local Administrators at the same time. If you are logged in as a Local Admin but not a Domain Admin you have to revert to things like invoking RUNAS from the CMD prompt to properly run your MMC tools.

There is very little info about users who have rights more than a standard user but less than a Local Admin, like power user. The document does not note the fact that any user who logged in with privileges higher than standard user appears to receive two tokens too and UAC applies in that instance as well.

Sidenote - please forward to people working on Vista Service Pack 2: