Jump to content

Post Documentation Bugs Here


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

WinActivte and WinActivate: Make sure to fix in docs AND any syntax files for text editors.

Also: @userprofiledir In Win98, returning empty string

Antother, maybe: command-line issue on Windows 95

Edited by CyberSlug
Use Mozilla | Take a look at My Disorganized AutoIt stuff | Very very old: AutoBuilder 11 Jan 2005 prototype I need to update my sig!
Link to post
Share on other sites

Would you use feedback like the following? (Not saying you need it.)

LOCATION: AutoIt

> AutoIt v3 Hompage

ITEM: Hompage

CHANGE TO: Homepage

LOCATION: AutoIt

> but the syntax in v3 is poweful enough for general

> purpose scripting

ITEM: poweful

CHANGE TO: powerful

LOCATION: Running Scripts

> Although AutoIt v3 scripts are just plain-text file

ITEM: file

CHANGE TO: files

LOCATION: Running Scripts

> Although AutoIt v3 scripts are just plain-text file

> they are usually

ITEM: file they

CHANGE TO: file, they

LOCATION: Running Scripts

> Here is an example script, notice that ; is used for

> comments

COMMENT: Comma splice

(Ref.: http://www.bartleby.com/68/42/1342.html)

LOCATION: Running Scripts

> More complicated scripts may use functions which are

> usually placed at the end of a script.

CHANGE TO: More complicated scripts may use functions, which are usually placed at the end of a script.

COMMENT: Non-restrictive relative clause requires a comma.

(Ref.: http://www.bartleby.com/68/65/5065.html)

LOCATION: Running Scripts

> So if your script is run like this:

> AutoIt3.exe myscript.au3 param1 "this is another param"

> $CmdLine[0] = 2

> $CmdLine[1] = "param"

COMMENT: Should the words param1 and param be idectical?

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> standalone

COMMENT: Styled stand-alone in Webster's 11th, Micosoft Manual of Style 3.0, Can. Oxford

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> the option to bind additional files (also

> compressed/encrypted) to the exe using the FileInstall

ITEM: exe

COMMENT: Micosoft Manual of Style 3.0:

<quote>

Use executable and .exe as adjectives only, never as nouns. Use the article an, not a, with .exe, as in "an .exe file."

Correct

an executable program

the .exe file

Incorrect

an executable

the .exe

</quote>

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> 1. Open the start menu and browse to the AutoIt v3

> group.

ITEM: start menu

CHANGE TO: Start menu

COMMENT: Micosoft Manual of Style 3.0:

<quote>

start, Start (the menu)

In general, use start, as in "start a program," instead of boot, initiate, initialize, issue, launch, turn on , and so on. Capitalize references to the Start menu and the Start button on the taskbar, and always specify which one you are referring to.

Avoid "click the Windows Start button."

Correct

Start Windows, and then click the Start button to start your programs.

On the taskbar, click the Start button, and then click Run.

</quote>

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> 4. Use the Browse buttons to select you input (.au3)

> and output (.exe) files.

ITEM: you

CHANGE TO: your

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> 5. If you like you can change the icon of the

> resulting .exe

ITEM: .exe

COMMENT: As above

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> the decompression speed (when the .exe is run) is the

> same

ITEM: .exe

COMMENT: As above

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> 1. In Explorer browse to the .au3 file that you wish

> to compile.

ITEM: Explorer

COMMENT: FYI only, Micosoft Manual of Style 3.0:

<quote>

Explorer

Always use Windows Explorer or Microsoft Internet Explorer, depending on the program; do not shorten to Explorer or the Explorer.

</quote>

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> When compiling in this way current icon/compression

> settings

CHANGE TO: When compiling in this way, current icon/compression settings

COMMENT: Comma

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> When compiling in this way

COMMENT: Dangler

(dangling modifiers: http://www.bartleby.com/64/C001/021.html)

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> When compiling in this way current icon/compression

> settings are used

ITEM: icon/compression

CHANGE TO: icon and compression ?

COMMENT: Slash means "or"; sentence may require "and"

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> i.e. the encryption is two-way

ITEM: i.e.

CHANGE TO: i.e.,

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> For this reason you should regard the compiled exe as

> being encoded

ITEM: exe

COMMENT: As above. Cf. ".exe file" later in paragraph.

LOCATION: Compiling Scripts

> unless I was sure that the end-user would not have easy

> access

ITEM: end-user

CHANGE TO: end user

COMMENT: Micosoft Manual of Style 3.0:

<quote>

end user (n), end-user (adj)

Avoid; use user, customer, or you instead. Okay to use end user, however, to differentiate between types of users when, for example, there are both an administrator and end users or when referring to a programmer's audience in programming documentation.

</quote>

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm using docs-v3.0.94-beta-sr..> 21-Feb-2004 04:05 540k as the basis for the documentation fixes.

From jlandes:

@UserProfileDir - Path to current user's Profile folder.

@HomeDrive - Drive letter of drive containing current user's home directory.

@HomePath - Directory part of current user's home directory. To get the full path, use in conjunction with @HomeDrive.

@HomeShare - Server and share name containing current user's home directory.

@LogonServer - Logon server.

@LogonDomain - Logon Domain.

@LogonDNSDomain - Logon DNS Domain.

Use Mozilla | Take a look at My Disorganized AutoIt stuff | Very very old: AutoBuilder 11 Jan 2005 prototype I need to update my sig!
Link to post
Share on other sites

ProcessWait lists the wrong return values (In the 3.0.94 docs, at least). It should be:

Success: Returns 1.

Failure: Returns 0 if wait timed out.

not:

Success: Returns 0.

Failure: Returns 1 if the wait timed out.

This both matches how the function works and also how ProcessWaitClose works (This caused me a couple minutes of confusion when I was testing those 2 functions the other day...)

Edited by Valik
Link to post
Share on other sites

FileOpenDialog/FileSaveDialog:

The filter parameters is poorly described.

Existing:

filter: File type filter such as "*.*" or "*.txt"

Proposed:

Filter: Show only files of a given type, for example: "AutoIt V3 Scripts (*.au3)" The actual filename pattern must be enclosed in parentheses.

David Nuttall
Nuttall Computer Consulting

An Aquarius born during the Age of Aquarius

AutoIt allows me to re-invent the wheel so much faster.

I'm off to write a wizard, a wonderful wizard of odd...

Link to post
Share on other sites

What happened to all the stuff at the bottom from the original docs? I put that it because of the licencing statement from the original authors.

Also, the period is 2^19937-1, not 219937-1. Use 2<sup>19937</sup>-1 in the docs to specify please.

David Nuttall
Nuttall Computer Consulting

An Aquarius born during the Age of Aquarius

AutoIt allows me to re-invent the wheel so much faster.

I'm off to write a wizard, a wonderful wizard of odd...

Link to post
Share on other sites

I just left in the bits it says to leave in (the copyright notice).  It was freaking people out with the whole talking about sending emails.

Yeah, we can take out the last two paragraphs in the old docs. Tonight I will edit the Radnom() docs to include how to find an integer random number and fix the examples. I will send it to you tomorrow.

David Nuttall
Nuttall Computer Consulting

An Aquarius born during the Age of Aquarius

AutoIt allows me to re-invent the wheel so much faster.

I'm off to write a wizard, a wonderful wizard of odd...

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Administrators

Yeah, we can take out the last two paragraphs in the old docs.  Tonight I will edit the Radnom() docs to include how to find an integer random number and fix the examples.  I will send it to you tomorrow.

Make sure you edit the Random.txt file in the txt2htm directory. html is sooo last year :whistle:
Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, Random. Oops.

So Random.txt is what gets edited and that drives the html? That's why the superscripting disappears. :whistle: Ok I can work on it.

David Nuttall
Nuttall Computer Consulting

An Aquarius born during the Age of Aquarius

AutoIt allows me to re-invent the wheel so much faster.

I'm off to write a wizard, a wonderful wizard of odd...

Link to post
Share on other sites

Nutster, you can use html tags.... Read this:

txt2htm.au3 converts specially formatted text files to htm files which comprise the compiled help file.

The following is an example with explanations:

###Function###
Name goes here.  The above title could also be ###Keyword###

###Description###
One-line description.

###Syntax###
One-line syntax spec.


###Parameters###
@@ParamTable@@
Description
   ParamTables are special, two-column tables
   where the first column is only one line,
   but the second column can be many lines.
How To Denote
   Any information that appears in the second
   column must be indented with one tab.
   Each entry that is NOT indented begins a new row.
   DO NOT LEAVE ANY BLANK LINE BETWEEN HERE AND "@@END@@"
@@End@@


###ReturnValue###
None.
 

###Remarks###
In general, whitespace outside of tables is ignored.
The exception is the Remarks Section:  Lines can be indendented, and non-consecutive blank lines are converted
as HTML <br>'s.

You can also use <b>bold</b> and <i>italic</i> tags.  Pretty much any HTML formatting can be used, since this text is more or less copied directly over to the htm file.

Remarks go here.  Here's a standard table; each line is a new row, and columns are tab-separated:

@@StandardTable@@
row1col1   row1col2   row1col3   row1col4
row2col1   row2col2   row2col3   row2col4
@@End@@


###Related###
Foo, Bar (Option), <a href="whatever/baz.htm">Baz</a>

; the above will be converted to the following HTML:
<a href="foo.htm">Foo</a>, <a href="AutoItSetOption.htm#Bar">Bar (Option)</a>, <a href="whatever/baz.htm">Baz</a>


###Example###
The example will be formatted appropriately
Indent the lines with tabs; they will be converted to spaces (4, I think) in the html output.
Use Mozilla | Take a look at My Disorganized AutoIt stuff | Very very old: AutoBuilder 11 Jan 2005 prototype I need to update my sig!
Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...