Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Mat

if beta uses different files to non beta, why both?

7 posts in this topic

I've been wondering for a while about this:

I have the beta installed on my machine, and it works great (welldone devs), but also it uses beta duplicates of all the non beta exe's and includes, examples, and everytthing else I've looked at!

so why can't I run just the beta? when I try to uninstall v3, it says uninstall the beta first - is there a reason for this - or should I go ahead and delete the non beta files (lets face it, i'm not using them)

I'm guessing it's OK, but I don't want to go around deleting something I shouldn't, thats why I'm posting.

MDiesel

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Let me start with a question: Why are you trying to do something none standard without clearly having enough knowlegde about the whole setup?

Use the ZIP version when you want to do your own thing but don't blame us when things aren't working.

Jos


Visit the SciTE4AutoIt3 Download page for the latest versions        Beta files                                                          Forum Rules
 
Live for the present,
Dream of the future,
Learn from the past.
  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sorry, I am not blaming anyone for whats gone wrong, that is the wrong tense, I am making sure I don't do anything wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

#4 ·  Posted (edited)

sorry, I am not blaming anyone for whats gone wrong, that is the wrong tense, I am making sure I don't do anything wrong.

Understand...

We have spend a lot of time to come to the current setup with a separate Production and Beta directory tree because before people were constantly screwing up their setup when loading Beta.

As stated, if you want something different just use the Zipped distribution that doesn't have any installer, but you will have to do everything yourself.

Jos

Edited by Jos

Visit the SciTE4AutoIt3 Download page for the latest versions        Beta files                                                          Forum Rules
 
Live for the present,
Dream of the future,
Learn from the past.
  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've been wondering for a while about this:

I have the beta installed on my machine, and it works great (welldone devs), but also it uses beta duplicates of all the non beta exe's and includes, examples, and everytthing else I've looked at!

so why can't I run just the beta? when I try to uninstall v3, it says uninstall the beta first - is there a reason for this - or should I go ahead and delete the non beta files (lets face it, i'm not using them)

I'm guessing it's OK, but I don't want to go around deleting something I shouldn't, thats why I'm posting.

MDiesel

Why do you want to use the beta, when the production version is more recent?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I asked about this before. The reason is related to beta being potentially unstable. If you have to have the production version installed, and the beta ruins your computer, then it is your own fault for using the beta when the production version was available.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0