Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
dexter

Passing user inputs to _runDOS

4 posts in this topic

Hi ! I am new to autoIt. I had made a program in DOS for scheduling tasks, using JT.exe . What the program did was take user inputs and schedule a task. The command in DOS was -

JT /snj %taskname% /sc %username% %password% /ctj startdate=today starttime=%timeout% type=%freq% /sj applicationname="%windir%\connect.bat" DontStartIfOnBatteries=0 KillIfGoingOnBatteries=0 SystemRequired=1 DeleteWhenDone=1 /stj disabled=0 >>nul

If I use _runDOS to run this command in AutoIt, how can i ask for user input for taskname, account password, running time etc and pass it on to command inside _runDOS ? Plz give a sample script and explain it, since Iam new.

Also, I can use a good tutorial or book to learn autoIT.

Hi and welcome dexter,

If you are looking for a nice method to receive input through the command shell (not with rundos) check out this post. (example included)

In order to create a true command shell program with AutoIt3 you need to tell the supplied source to executable converter (Aut2Exe) that this is your intention, which can be achieved through its interface or at the commandline or most popular is through AutoItWrapper directives.

Of course you don't have to make a console program with AutoIt3 to wrap this other program, you could build a Gui, or have a simple inputbox driven interface or a myriad of other ways to get and set this data before passing it on to this other program.

so.... There is a good AutoIt3 tutorial here. And the best way to learn AutoIt3 is the supplied help file, oh and this forum.

Just curious but are you using runDOS because you need this command shell specific redirection switch?

JT /snj %taskname% /sc %username% %password% /ctj startdate=today starttime=%timeout% type=%freq% /sj applicationname="%windir%\connect.bat" DontStartIfOnBatteries=0 KillIfGoingOnBatteries=0 SystemRequired=1 DeleteWhenDone=1 /stj disabled=0 >>nul