Logoff current user on WinXP

Real newbie here...

Can someone tell me how to create a script that logs off the current user on WinXP and then enters the username/password for a different user to login windows. I saw Shutdown in Help topics but what do I use with Shutdown to login the new user?

Thanks.

logs off the current user on WinXP

This will get you logged off:

shutdown -l

But this:

enters the username/password for a different user to login windows

is an entirely different ball of wax. I don't know if that even can be done as the program launched under one user who logs will likely be killed in the logoff.

is an entirely different ball of wax. I don't know if that even can be done as the program launched under one user who logs will likely be killed in the logoff.

I also have the interesting of logoning windows system automatically with tools like AutoIT. Is is really impossible? Is there anyone who have something to say about this topic?

Thanks

Sunzen

Basically, the logon window runs under a separate desktop, and is heavily protected against sending of keystrokes to it. Hence this approach is extremely difficult. The simplest workaround is to use autologon, which involves creating some registry values in the Winlogon key,

$Winlogon="HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon"
RegWrite($Winlogon,"DefaultPassword","REG_SZ","noneofyourbusiness")
RegWrite($Winlogon,"DefaultUserName","REG_SZ","myname")
RegWrite($Winlogon,"AutoAdminLogon","REG_SZ","1")
RegWrite($Winlogon,"ForceAutoLogon","REG_SZ","1")
$tmp=RegRead($Winlogon,"DefaultDomainName")
if @error then RegWrite($Winlogon,"DefaultDomainName","REG_SZ",@computername)

When set correctly a shutdown command will result in an immediate re-logon with the credentials given. To prevent this, hold shift whilst issuing shutdown.

Slight disadvantage is that anyone who knows how to use regedit can find the password, as it has to be plaintext.