Some technical quesitons about coding in Autoit.

Greetings to all,

I'm rather new to coding and have a couple of technical questions about how to write better scripts. If you can share your opinions and knowledge I'll be very glad.

1) I've read in several threads that it is wise to delete an variable if it is not needed anymore. So I always try to do so in my scripts. Like:

Func SomeFunction($i_hwnd,$i_height, $i_animationspeed=25)
    $aiWinPos = WinGetPos($i_hwnd)
    $aiWinClientSize = WinGetClientSize($i_hwnd)
;Script does couple of things with the variables...
;Finaly, just before the function exits:
    $aiWinClientSize=0
    $aiWinPos = 0
    $i_hwnd = 0
    $i_animationspeed = 0
Return 1
EndFunc

Does this help my script to use less ram and/or work faster? Or just inflates my script with unneeded lines and is a waste of time?

Ans: Local variables are destroyed when the function they are created in returns so setting them to zero is wasting time from a programming and an execution point of view. (martin)

If you declare a variable inside a function it is in Local scope and can only be used within that same function. Variables created inside functions are automatically destroyed when the function ends.(Autoit Help File)

2) Which is better when working with binary (E.g: a jpg image file)

Func Image_FileBin()
    $Image_FileBin= "0x89504E470D0A1A0A000..."
    Return  Binary($Image_FileBin)
Endfunc

;or just 

Global $Image_FileBin= "0x89504E470D0A1A0A000..." at the beginning of the script.

I have also noticed that if I use "Global $Image_FileBin= '0x89504E470D0A1A0A000...'" and call IsBinary($Image_FileBin), it returns 0. Although it seems $Image_FileBin and Binary($Image_FileBin) are exactly the same when I print them to Scite's console. (As you can understand IsBinary(Binary($Image_FileBin) returns 1 :huh2:)

Ans: The quotes at the beginning and the end of binary code makes binary code a string. (AdmiralAlkex)