Zip txt and xsl Files

Hi,

I need to zip text and excel files.

I've searched the forum and help file (which only specifices how to install winzip) but could not find what I needed.

Another problem is that I'm not very technical, and the wealth of information threw me off.

So please, be patient with my very basic, silly-sounding questions.

Once a week, same files but newly created, with the same name, in the same path, need to be zipped using winzip.

In the help forum, found this, but again - I don't really understand all the lines.

I don't need a log file or a message box.

Is the loop necessary?

Hope I'm not being to basic here.

Thanks for your patience.

Miriam

#include <Process.au3>

$logfilepath=IniRead(@ScriptDir & "\Options.ini", "LOGPATH", "Logfilepath", @ScriptDir &'\zip.log')

$filestozip=IniRead(@ScriptDir & "\Options.ini", "ZIPFILES", "FilesToZip", 0)

_Zipfiles($filestozip) ; run function

Func _Zipfiles($pathtozip)
$a = FileGetShortName($pathtozip)
$Zipto=IniRead(@ScriptDir & "\options.ini", "ZIPFILES", "WhereToZip","''")
;MsgBox(0,$a,$Pathtozip & ' in _zip func') 
$zipPath='"C:\Program files\WinZip\WZzip"' & ' -m ' & $Zipto & " " & $pathtozip & ' -ybc'
MsgBox(0,"Test ZIPPING",$zipPath)
_FileWriteLog($logfilepath,$zipPath)
$rc = _RunDos($zipPath)
Sleep(3000)

If $rc >=1 Then
_FileWriteLog($logfilepath, "Failed to zip " & " returned an error code of " & $rc)
Else
_FileWriteLog($logfilepath, "Success zipping " & ".zip returned an error code of " & $rc)

Endif
Endfunc

You don't need the log if you are not going to use it - it is useful and personally I don't see any reason to NOT use it.

Only several lines in the script - won't hurt at all.

If you don't want logging - just comment the lines.

The message box is there just to show that the archiving will be done - just comment that and it will be fine.

Is the loop necessary?

Do you mean this?

If $rc >=1 Then

_FileWriteLog($logfilepath, "Failed to zip " & " returned an error code of " & $rc)