How to connect to remote Oracle database without TNS names?

K33p3r

Greetings everyone,

I am quite new to this kind of programming and I'm currently trying to create a rather complex program.

I've recently set up an Oracle 11g database at my home PC and I want this program to run on my work laptop which will connect to my home database.

The objective of the program is to provide a GUI to the user in which he can select a network equipment (AP, switch, router) based on specifications that he can input. Once the form is completed, he will then press the search button and a SQL query will be created and sent, containing his input, to the remote database. In a short time he will receive a message containing the desired equipment model or an error if the input was incorrect or incomplete.

I have all the GUI components sorted out and functioning properly and I can also locally connect and retrieve the information like so:

$apCon = ObjCreate( "ADODB.Connection" ) ; Create a COM ADODB Object
GUICtrlSetData($apProgress, "Connecting to database...")
With $apCon
.ConnectionString =("Provider='OraOLEDB.Oracle';Data Source='TestDB';User Id='test';Password='test';")
.Open
EndWith

If @error Then
GUICtrlSetData($apProgress, "Failed to connect to the database")
Exit
Else
GUICtrlSetData($apProgress, "Connection successful")
EndIf

$apRecord = ObjCreate( "ADODB.RecordSet" ) ; Create a Record Set to handles SQL Records
GUICtrlSetData($apProgress, "Retrieving information...")
With $apRecord
.ActiveConnection = $apCon
.Source = "select ap_model from meraki_aps"
.Open
EndWith

MsgBox(0, "AutoIT-SQL Result", "Value = " & $apRecord.Fields( "ap_model" ).Value )
$apCon.close

The problem is when I try a remote connection method I receive an error. Here is the code and error output:

$oMyError = ObjEvent("AutoIt.Error","MyErrFunc")

$apCon = ObjCreate( "ADODB.Connection" )
$DSN = "Driver={Microsoft ODBC for Oracle}; " & _
"CONNECTSTRING=(DESCRIPTION=" & _
"(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)" & _