Help on extracting files using 7zip

Hey, i'm new to the advanced features of autoit programming and my knowledge is basic at best but i've made use of the predefined functions to make a program which searches and pulls files from certain computers on a network.

Problem i'm facing now is some of the data is zipped using the .tar.bz2 compression format and i'm supposed to find a way to get my program to extract it. I've tried using some UDF's I searched but they didn't seem to work for me, even the examples provided inside weren't working(I assume it's a problem with the .dll's): '?do=embed' frameborder='0' data-embedContent>>

Then I stumbled across this line

$Extract = Run(@ScriptDir & '\7z.exe' & ' x "' & $Source & '" ' & "-y -o" & '"' & $Dest & '"', "", @SW_HIDE)

in this thread: '?do=embed' frameborder='0' data-embedContent>>

It dawned on me then that there's much more to the 'run' family of functions that I initially thought. Provided I had 7zip installed, I wouldn't have to externally run and compile into my exe the .dll file using autoit. Unfortunately the run code didn't run for me as well, even after changing @ScriptDIr to @ProgramfilesDir and changing from 7z.exe to 7zG.exe(And yes, i'm sure 7z is installed in my program files directory and has both those exe files.).

Will some of you pros here help a newbie like myself by explaining how to read and understand what was stated in the run? Where can I learn more about controlling programs this way without accessing their GUI's? The help file was useful but only partly, maybe because I don't know where to look.

first, you don't have to have 7zip installed. you need only 7z.exe and 7z.dll both present in the same directory.

for explanation on the syntax of Run(), or any other function - use the help file, it's very very very good, and it should be your first place to look for help.