help with treeview32 controls

det54

Hi,

I'm kind of new to AutoIt, and have been trying to see if I can make it work or if I'll need to purchase something like WinTask.  I need to control some things in SolidWorks, and there is an API that helps me to do much of what I require.  However, some very important output functions are not available, so I must manually generate cut plots and animations of results.  My current control code is written in VBA (Excel 2010), and I am using Win7 x64.  In the past, I had some good success with WinTask, and it was able to interact with TreeView32 items in SolidWorks.  While looking through some code examples and the help file for AutoIt3, I was hoping I could do similar things using AutoItX from VBA, so that I have my code in the same place and don't have to call external applications/scripts.

I found and modified some VBA code that searches for running windows and grabs their handles, but I can not seem to make the handles that get returned work for me at all.  For example, if I use the following code:

sText = AutoIt.ControlTreeView("SolidWorks Premium 2013 x64 Edition", "", "TreeView326", "GetText", "", "")

a treeview32 item gets returned (not the correct one, but it's a start).  However, if I replace "TreeView326" with the actual handle:

sText = AutoIt.ControlTreeView("SolidWorks Premium 2013 x64 Edition", "", "000000000011073C", "GetText", "", "")

nothing happens, and sText = 0.  Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?  The actual code I was trying out is included at the bottom.  The returned values from this code are:

hWin = 000000000043093C
hSTV1 = 000000000011073C
hSelection = 0
hNode = 0
Debug: sText = 0

I can't remember how I got it to work before, but at one point it was returning sText = Pit4000, which is not what I was looking for, but it is actually listed in one of the treeview32 items.
Sub Test()

Dim hWin As String
    Dim hSTV1 As String
    Dim hNode As String
    Dim AutoIt As New AutoItX3Lib.AutoItX3