Send-command printing more then 1 letter ?

FredX

Go to solution Solved by kylomas,

I would like to make life easier with the hotkeyset-function and the Send-function. Means: Instead of writing sentences or words pressing a key.

Goal is to have a macro with 3 or 4 hotkeys that print out a word when pressing them.

Now i'm not a good programmer i tried with google and some parts of Autoit3-macros i found in the net but what i managed was printing out a letter but not the whole word.

All i have(stolen from this forum) so far is:

Hotkeyset ("{A}", "A")

While 1
 Sleep (1000) ;Keeps script running
Wend

Func A()
Send("{Liebe Mitbewohner und Nachbarn,}")

Endfunc

When i run this macro and press shift+a, it just prints the "L" but not the rest.

I saw other macros with this function and more then one letters to be posted but they used for every letter a send-command, and this would be a big macro then, isn't there a better solution ?

And if this macro is working, can i just put it several times into the script to have several hotkeys programmed ?

• Moderators

FredX,

Welcome to the AutoIt forums. :)

Your syntax is not quite right:

HotKeySet("a", "_A") ; Help file suggests using lower case letters

While 1
    Sleep(10) ;Keeps script running - 10ms will suffice
WEnd

Func _A()
    Send("Liebe Mitbewohner und Nachbarn,")
EndFunc   ;==>_A
Note the lack of surrounding braces ({ }) in both the HotKey definition and the Send function. They are only required in the definition when you need to define a special key (e.g. {ENTER}) and when used inside the Send function limit the characters sent to the first alone - as you have found. ;)

M23

Public_Domain.png.2d871819fcb9957cf44f4514551a2935.png Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind

Open spoiler to see my UDFs:

Spoiler

ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columns