Issue with ControlSend and "_" character

I have a lot of experience with VB6 and VBA (including a lot of Windows API calls).  I wrote a large Autoit script about 4 years ago to simulate a Telnet session.  There is an INI file that I read a sequence of instructions from and wait for a command line response (configurable for each command, if required).  It has been working unchanged since I wrote it originally, using many different configurations in the INI file.

However recently we have discovered an issue with the use of the "_" character being altered (intermittently) to the "-".

I have added logging to the code to allow me to see if the command is becoming corrupted and it is fine before being used by the ControlSend function.

The overall programme starts a cmd window redirecting the standard output to a file. Thus this file contains the commands being sent into the device connected via telnet and also the responses which always show the invalid command.

Thus I might have a command to send such as "get info 1 pwr_supply_temp" and what is sent by the telnet window is "get info 1 pwr-supply-temp".  Command that do not have underscore characters ALWAYS work fine, but fail on these commands.  We have not been able to find a pattern to when the issue starts but it will continue until we check the results (the result file size will be smaller because requested data is not returned).  Sometimes checking the results will "fix" it and others it will not.

The script is set up to send these commands by running the Autoit script on an hourly basis on the machine by the scheduler (which has no keyboard or display), which we RDP into to check.  However we have tried it on 4 different machines some with keyboards displays, and permanently logged in and still the same issue.

;$TelnetHWND is a global variable

;************Test Logging
If StringInStr($sendtxt, "_", 2, 1) Or StringInStr($sendtxt, "-", 2, 1) Then
    Write2Log("About to Send Command '" & $sendtxt & "'")
EndIf