Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Krzysztof

Global statement does not work

5 posts in this topic

Hello everyone. I am new here.

I am just learning AutoIt from video-course. I wrote an example of function (taken from that course), please see the code below. It works fine for the tutor, but not for me. The problem is with global statement, because every time I receive following information

warning: $Sum: possibly used before declaration

I can't find the solution, can You? I know the warning is expected with no "global", but as You see I used it to have the access to $Sum variable in entire code.

$Box1 = InputBox("Addition", "First number is: ", "")
$Box2 = InputBox("Addition", "Second numer 2 is: ", "")
Addition($Box1, $Box2)
MsgBox(0, "Info", "The sum is: " & $Sum)

Func Addition($Number1, $Number2)
    Global $Sum = $Number1 + $Number2
    Return $Sum
EndFunc

#2 ·  Posted (edited)

This is more correct.

Global $Box1 = InputBox("Addition", "First number is: ", "")
Global $Box2 = InputBox("Addition", "Second numer 2 is: ", "")
Global $Sum = Addition($Box1, $Box2) ; Declare and assign a value to $Sum

Local $Sum = $Number1 + $Number2 ; Use Local instead of Global when declaring variables within a function.
    Return $Sum
EndFunc

;

I prefer to use the above method which uses a return value, but you can also modify global variables within a function as shown below:

Global $Box1 = InputBox("Addition", "First number is: ", "")
Global $Box2 = InputBox("Addition", "Second numer 2 is: ", "")
Global $Sum ; Declare $Sum
Addition($Box1, $Box2)

; This function does not return a value 
    $Sum = $Number1 + $Number2 ; Modify the global variable
EndFunc

;